Thread: Wifi disconnected, because connection is slow

Member #
    Device
    none
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Wifi disconnected, because connection is slow

Hello,

I have been using my S4 since about 6 months, without too many problems. Same issues as many have pointed out with automatic screen brightness, battery life and "cheap" casing... but that's all acceptable -- or is it for a phone that cost so much ... anyways.

I have a more serious issue now. since a couple of weeks (and I can't trace it back to any change of apps or change in my own wifi network), my S4 regularly disconnects from the wifi network (and goes onto 3G -- I realized it mostly through the higher 3G utilization)... invoking something like 'Wifi disconnected because internet is connection is slow'...

I found one or two threads in other forums about this, and all measures recommended seems to suggest it must be a WiFi router setting or what not. Now the things is, I'm having the exact same issue when connecting to other WiFi networks during travel (e.g. in hotels, airports etc.). So I suppose it must be a phone issue, rather than a wifi network issue.

Any help or ideas?

Best,

Dirk

Member #
    Device
    SGH-I337
    Liked
    1266 times
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Welcome to the forum Dirk

If the same thing happens exactly the same way on other networks and you don't have any task manager or power management apps you've installed it sounds like it may be a hardware problem. I have a link in my sig that will take you to some additional suggestions for solving the problem if it isn't the phone hardware.
    SGS3 SGH-i747 / SGS4 (32GB) SGH-i337 on AT&T - and LG Optimus G Pro

Printing and file transfer tips
    WiFi connection tips. (modified 7/26/13)
    Current Adobe Flash Player for the S4 - direct download 11.1.115.81 2/10/14

Member #
    Device
    none
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dalbre View Post
    Hello,